Embrace heartbreak, but don’t let it break you

“Though your first lover let you down, something can be done.”

Let’s face it: break-ups are among some of the most uncomfortable events a human can endure in life. Nobody desires to undergo such a drastic, utterly painful disconnection from somebody one has shared so much of his/herself with (though every relationship varies in length and intensity). Some people wonder, why must love feel so amazing but tear you apart when it’s all over with? If you had told me how painful and difficult a break-up could be about a year ago, I would have have brushed you off as weak. I was naive.

Five months ago, though, I went through my very first break-up of a relationship that lasted about 1.5 years. Though I was somewhat caught off guard when it happened, my heart broke open knowing it needed to be done sooner or later. But, of course, that didn’t necessarily minimize the pain of the separation. The first couple of months felt like I was dragging one foot in front of the other. And to make the blow even harder, my ex-partner began a new relationship with someone in our friend circle three weeks after our break-up. I felt like I had hit rock bottom after that. And my anger and resentment grew strong towards circumstances I had no control over. But, here I am, five months later, still alive and more of myself than I’ve been in a long time.

Acceptance takes a while and I still have my days. Daydreaming about the what-ifs and the should-haves is okay in moderation, but life is too brief to get caught up on somebody that wasn’t meant for you. Some people are not to meant to stay forever as much as that reality hurts.

I haven’t met the right guy yet for me but I trust that he is in the making for me. If you have also went through a break-up recently, no matter the circumstances, this is only making you stronger. Put your trust in that, feel the pain, and make positive actions like meeting new people, taking new classes, or starting new hobbies. And here is one of the many songs that have helped me put my perspective into place. Take care and God bless.

2 thoughts on “Embrace heartbreak, but don’t let it break you

  1. I had a similar “event’ a few months ago, so the stuff that you’re writing about is fresh in my mind. It’s hard, but I think you have to go through it at least once in your life in order to learn more about yourself, especially if you’re a introverted feeler. (I’m an INFP as well)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

