Emotions: Let’s Listen for Once

“What if I were very, very sad
And all I did was smile?
I wonder after awhile
What might become of my sadness?

What if I were very, very angry
And all I did was sit
And never think about it?
What might become of my anger?

Where would they go,
And what would they do,
If I couldn’t let them out?

Maybe I’d fall, maybe get sick
Or doubt.

But what if I could know the truth
And say just how I feel?
I think I’d learn a lot that’s real
About freedom.”

 

~Mister Rogers

It’s not uncommon to hear the phrase, “Fake it ’till you make it” in this society. Now, its interpretation is not black and white, and is certainly up to the individual using it. I’m speaking on this quote from the context I usually hear it: to suck it up and act like you’ve got it together, and to avoid confronting your emotions.

Whoaaaa, man. Stop right there (are my thoughts). We can’t be doing this to our people any longer. We can’t tell people to repress the dog-garn emotions that guide their lives each and every day. We use every emotion whether we acknowledge it, act on it, or repress it. If we choose to feel the passion of a heart-to-heart with somebody, our heart may be open to strangers throughout the rest of our day, encouraging kindness in our local communities. Or, if our spouse continues to bring us down with their words before we go off to our 9-5 every day, we might feel that powerlessness over and over. If we acknowledge it, we might be able to move forward, confront our spouse and resolve the problem whether it be through counseling or a divorce.

Ultimately, I just want you to see that the way we respond to our emotions is important. It is the spirit crying out to be heard in a specific fashion.

I want to thank Mr. Rogers for sharing his spirit that had so much dedication to creating a better world, and the gratitude to share it for this blog post.

Remember, feel yourself. Do not ignore your spirit. Listen.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

