My Experience with a Craigslist Roommate

There comes a time in life where you just gotta take chances. Fun chances. Curious chances.

I had just finished my fourth semester of college, and I was ready to head for the hills. Not because I hated school, or had bad grades (I actually had good grades), but because I wanted to take a different path;  something unconventional.

I ended up moving an hour and a half away from my hometown, to a town where my brother had just graduated college. He immediately got a job elsewhere, so he had a spare room in his apartment I could stay in.  It was a chance for me to see if living on my own in an unfamiliar place was worth my time, and it certainly was. Once the lease was up, though, it was time to find a place of my own.

I’d had my fair shares of jobs, and decided I didn’t really want to work my ass off to pay for a one bedroom apartment. I didn’t know anybody personally that needed a roommate by that time, either, so I decided to give Craigslist a try.

I was heavily involved in the Law of Attraction movement at the time, so I was very familiar with the idea to “ask the Universe for whatever it is you desire; you just have to BELIEVE!” So I made a vision poster of what my new place would be like, what kind of roommate I’d have, and so forth. My faith in a higher power was pretty strong, so surely, I’d find somebody who wasn’t creepy…

Damn right. I found somebody quite decent for a Craigslist roommate. And he was the opposite gender.

We met up briefly over coffee, checked out the place, and called it good. The apartment we moved into was very spacious, clean, and decently-priced. The backyard overlooked the green woods just like I had visualized and had a small patio.

Overall, I’m thankful things worked out the way they did. My roommate and I may not be good friends, but we practice similar values of respect and compassion, which makes it a peaceful household. And besides him being messy and forgetful with chores at times, it’s still nice to have somebody to pay the bills with.

I’ve learned that guys and girls can live together. Fortunately, my roommate and I never have had wandering eyes for one another (we don’t necessarily “click”in that way), so it makes it easy to live with one another. Although, I do believe it takes maturity, communication and patience to live with somebody you barely know.

So, if you need a roommate, and don’t know where to look, or don’t have much time to find one, trust that Craigslist can work. I would simply suggest asking a higher power/guidance to send you a good roommate.

Hope this was insightful. 🙂

xoxo

Katelyn

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

